Meet Our Elementary School Faculty

Annie Hsieh

First Grade Teacher

ahsieh@ast.tc.edu.tw

Aimee Eppel

Second Grade Teacher

aeppel@ast.tc.edu.tw

Genevieve Murphy

Third Grade Teacher

gmurphy@ast.tc.edu.tw

Annie Tung

Fourth Grade Teacher / ES Coordinator

atung@ast.tc.edu.tw

Tom Connelly

Fifth Grade Teacher

tconnelly@ast.tc.edu.tw

Greta Macha-Sharp

ESOL Teacher / Reading Specialist

gmsharp@ast.tc.edu.tw

Charlene Chen

Chinese / ESOL Teacher

cchen@ast.tc.edu.tw

Evelyn Kuo

Chinese Teacher / After School Coordinator

ckuo@ast.tc.edu.tw

Michael Wiles

Music and Performing Arts Teacher

mwiles@ast.tc.edu.tw

Jonah Lin

Art Teacher

jlin@ast.tc.edu.tw

Elizabeth Norton-Middaugh

Nutrition, Psychology, Comp Sci Teacher

bnorton@ast.tc.edu.tw

A Peak Inside

Click on the pictures for larger images and more photos.

Leadership

Leadership Opportunities in our Elementary School

  • Student Led Activities
  • 5th Grade Captains
  • Class Buddies
  • Publicity Officers
  • STUGO Representatives

Social and Emotional Learning

AST fosters leadership skills by focusing on the Social and Emotional Learning needs of our students.

“Social and emotional learning (SEL) is the process through which children and adults acquire and effectively apply the knowledge, attitudes, and skills necessary to understand and manage emotions, set and achieve positive goals, feel and show empathy for others, establish and maintain positive relationships, and make responsible decisions,” (CASEL, 2013).

Partnership with Know My World.org

To support implementation, AST partners with Know My World.org.

"Know My World stands for social, emotional, and cultural literacy in students to support a benevolent and forward thinking society.  Students first begin with an education of self to become effective citizens and leaders.  A skill set that employs self awareness, confidence, self reflection and accountability promotes socially responsible citizenship. Students transform from individuals to highly skilled and impacting leaders eager to contribute powerfully to the world." (Know My World, 2015).

Quiet Time

Our Curriculum Website

Please check out our curriculum website. On the site you will find: